You’ve Got to Start Somewhere

Today I hit a milestone in my shop.  I reached 500 Etsy sales and am so excited.  I have a hard time imagining what that number means.  It means that 500 women (and some men) are wearing something I made.  Me.  My hands.  My tools.  My work.  I couldn’t be more thrilled. 

Through those 500 sales, there were many pieces that made me laugh and some that made me cry.  The stories that my customers tell me about why they want a certain piece have really touched me.  Making a necklace for a mother who just lost her baby, young women whose dad is dying from cancer, or for a mother and grandmother whose daughter was taken at the hands of someone else are all things I never expected to happen.  I never thought I’d cry over these.  I also never contemplated that fact that I would be making something that these women would cherish forever.  It’s overwhelming sometimes.  I feel honored and blessed that I get to do what I do. 

I’m looking forward to what the next 500 sales bring and I have all you to thank for your support and love for getting my shop this far. 

I still remember when I just waited for the first sale on Etsy.  And, I still remember where I was when I found out I got it.  I was at the grocery store and Mr. Farmer called me up to tell me I got a sale.  I didn’t believe him.  He told me a woman in Texas had bought my camping necklace.  I immediately got on the phone with my friend, Charissa, and my mom to tell them the good news.  I believe I was shaking.

Since I remember the feeling of waiting for my first sale, I’ve put together a treasury tonight that features shop owners that are also waiting for their first sale.  Where will they be when they find out that someone loved their item enough to buy it?  Will they be at home?  On their phone while out and about?  Who knows, they could all have 500 sales before we know it.  You’ve got to start somewhere.  And if you don’t dream, try, and keep trying, then you’ll never know.

Click HERE to view my newest treasury.  Here are just some of the items waiting to be ‘pounced’ on.  Click on their pictures to be directed to their shop.

8 thoughts on “You’ve Got to Start Somewhere

  1. Thank you for adding my teal pouf pillow to your treasury and thanks for helping to promote new shops. Congratulations on your 508 items sold. I just checked your shop. Beautiful items! Thanks again and I wish you continued success!

    Paula Petree Bobbleknit

  2. I agree with your mom. You are just beginning. Sounds like you are hearing some very meaningful stories. How amazing that your talents can heal hearts and make lasting treasures to go with those stories. 🙂

Leave a Reply

